

Sláinte Leanaí Éireann (SLÉ), Herberton, Siúlán San Séamas, Rialto, D08 HP97, Éire Children's Health Ireland (CHI), Herberton, St James's Walk, Rialto, D08 HP97 Ireland

Ref: PQ 35464/23

8th August 2023

Deputy Jennifer Murnane O'Connor Dáil Eireann Dublin 2

Dear Deputy Murnane O'Connor

I refer to your recent parliamentary question which has been forwarded to me for attention. Firstly, please accept my sincere apologies for the delay in issuing a response.

PQ 35464/23 - To ask the Minister for Health the rate of theatre utilisation for both CHI Temple Street and CHI Crumlin in 2022 and to date in 2023, in tabular form; and if he will make a statement on the matter.

## Children's Health Ireland (CHI) Response:

Please find set out here-under the information you require from Children's Health Ireland (CHI).

Date	% Utilisation of Theatre	Hospital
01/01/2022 - 31/12/2022	76.28	CHI at Crumlin*
01/01/2023 - 12/07/2023	77.85	CHI at Crumlin*

\*CHI at Crumlin has advised that the percentage utilisation in theatre can decrease due to several factors including the cleaning of theatres following an infectious patient's operation, theatre closures due to maintenance works, general and ICU bed availability on the day of elective admission.

Unfortunately, the percentage utilisation of theatre information at CHI at Temple Street is temporarily unavailable due to a system change. Please be assured that all theatre sessions are filled and any delays during the days would be for similar reasons as CHI at Crumlin's, see above.

Yours sincerely

**Sharon Ryan** 

**Directorate Operations Lead CDA** 

Email: sharon.ryan@cuh.ie

Our **Mission** is to: Promote and provide child-centred, research-led and learning informed healthcare, to the highest standards of safety and excellence. We will do this in partnership with each other, with children, young people and their families through a network of children's services in Ireland.

CRA Registered Charity Number (RCN): 20202295 Revenue Charitable Status CHY: 22235

**Board Members:** Prof James Browne (Chairman), Mr Con Cronin, Ms Mary Cryan, Prof Martin Elliott, Ms Catherine Guy, Dr Anne Kilgallen, Dr Gavin Lavery, Mr Bernard McLoughlin, Ms Brigid McManus, Ms Eleanor O'Neill, Mr Sean Sheehan